News release

Storm Closures, Delayed Opening at Some Provincial Government Offices

Executive Council Office
winter storm
A plow moves snow

The ongoing winter storm has resulted in the closure and delayed opening of some provincial government offices today, February 5 (Communications Nova Scotia / File)

UPDATE, 11:24 a.m.: Provincial government offices in HRM and Hants, Colchester and Cumberland counties will remain closed today, February 5.

Provincial government offices in Pictou, Antigonish, Inverness, Guysborough, Victoria and Richmond counties and Cape Breton Regional Municipality will be closed today, February 5, due to ongoing impacts of the winter storm.

Offices in the following areas will delay opening until at least noon; they will be reassessed at 10 a.m.

  • Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Hants County
  • Colchester County
  • Cumberland County

Offices in Lunenburg, Kings, Annapolis, Yarmouth, Digby, Shelburne and Queens counties will open as usual.

Information on the latest road conditions is available at:

Other than cropping, CNS photos are not to be altered in any way.